The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) today announced its 2016 honors recipients. Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. The honors will be presented at the president’s dinner on October 24, held during the 2016 ASLA Annual Meeting & EXPO, October 21–24, in New Orleans.

2016 Honors

Kurt Culbertson

ASLA Medal: Kurt Culbertson, FASLA

Kurt Culbertson, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Medal, the Society’s highest award for a landscape architect. Culbertson, the CEO and chair of Design Workshop Inc.’s international practice, is a longtime leader in sustainable development, and communities from around the world have benefitted socially, economically and aesthetically from his projects. His skill at navigating difficult, but important projects to build broad consensus is clearly recognized by the profession through seven national ASLA awards and dozens of regional and state ASLA Awards. Culbertson has also served as a mentor to hundreds of landscape architects and demonstrated a lasting dedication to landscape architecture education.

View nominating and supporting materials.

James Burnett

ASLA Design Medal: James Burnett, FASLA

James Burnett, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Design Medal in recognition of his exceptional design work. Burnett has consistently delivered graceful, human-scaled and sustainable built landscapes that yielded some of the most recognized and beloved urban environments worldwide. Klyde Warren Park in Dallas, Sunnylands Center and Gardens in Rancho Mirage, California, and The Park at Lakeshore East in Chicago are just a few examples. Burnett founded The Office of James Burnett in 1989, which has become one of the most influential landscape architecture firms in the world and received the ASLA Firm Award in 2015.

View nominating and supporting materials.

Chip Sullivan

Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Chip Sullivan, ASLA

Chip Sullivan, ASLA, will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal for significant and sustained excellence in landscape architecture education. In his nearly 30-year career in the Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning at the University of California at Berkeley, Sullivan has inspired thousands of students with his iconic publications, exceptional instructional methods and overwhelming belief in the power of landscape architecture to create positive change in the world.

View nominating and supporting materials.

Mia Lehrer

LaGasse Medal – Landscape Professional: Mia Lehrer, FASLA

Mia Lehrer, FASLA, will receive the LaGasse Medal for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. Lehrer, the founding principal of the Los Angeles firm Mia Lehrer + Associates, has focused her work on public and private-sector projects including complex mixed-use development projects, urban revitalization initiatives and neighborhood and regional parks. As a designer, she has applied landscape and urban design innovation and technical expertise on complex design/build infrastructure projects. Lehrer also plays a significant leadership role in outreach and consensus building, including for the Los Angeles River revitalization.

View nominating and supporting materials.

Michael Nutter

Olmsted Medal: The Honorable Michael Nutter, Former Mayor of Philadelphia

The Honorable Michael Nutter will receive the Olmsted Medal, which recognizes individuals, organizations, agencies or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision and stewardship. Mayor Nutter has championed and supported several pivotal initiatives that will shape Philadelphia’s designed and natural landscapes for decades: Greenworks (sustainability), Green2015 (open space), Green City, Clean Waters (stormwater management) and Philadelphia2035 (comprehensive plan). Since ending his term in early 2016, Mayor Nutter continues to advocate for thoughtful, inclusive and well-designed public spaces and meaningful and impactful environmental and planning policies.

View nominating and supporting materials.

National Park Service

Medal of Excellence: National Park Service

The National Park Service (NPS) will receive the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence. The award recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning and design, or a combination of these items. Landscape architects have a deep connection to the NPS, and ASLA members were instrumental in the passage of the National Park Service Organic Act, which established the NPS in 1916. Today, iconic parks and recreational spaces cover 84 million acres of land for the public’s enjoyment. The NPS Centennial is a perfect opportunity to recognize the agency’s service to preserve America’s natural and cultural resources, while inspiring the next generation of park stewards to experience and value public lands.

View nominating and supporting materials.